关注我们

什么是光烧结

You are here

P什么是光烧结1
P什么是光烧结2

什么是光烧结?

光烧结是一种工业热处理工艺,其中薄膜由来自闪光灯的脉冲光加热。 当在基板上加热薄膜时,由于曝光时间非常短(~1ms),所以基板的主体保持相对冷却。 当在具有相对低的热损伤阈值的基板(例如塑料或纸)上执行该瞬态处理时,可以在不损坏基板的情况下在薄膜中达到比使用传统烘箱明显更高的温度。 由于光烧结工具可在低温基材上快速高温固化薄膜,因此非常适用于聚合物或纸张的卷对卷工艺。

光烧结工艺最初由NovaCentrix开发并整合到PulseForge®工具中。 它已成为用于制造印刷电子器件的变革性工艺,因为它使得廉价且柔性的基板代替传统的玻璃或陶瓷基板成为可能。 此外,光烧结提供的更高温度处理可以大幅度地减少处理时间,通常从几分钟到几毫秒,这样可以在保持非常小的机器占地面积的同时提高加工量。

为什么重要?

与传统的热处理方法(如烤箱和激光器)相比,光烧结提供的更高温度处理可以大幅度地缩短处理时间 - 通常从几分钟到几毫秒! 由于它在低温基材上的高温下固化薄膜,因此非常适用于聚合物或纸张上的卷对卷工艺。

  1. 与传统的热处理设备相比,例如烘箱,光烧结设备占地面积很小;
  2. 设备可以改装到现有生产线上,或者仅占用无尘室中较少的空间但就能获得相同的处理速度。
  3. 由于可以实现更高的加工温度,因此可以用功能材料实现改善的导电性能。
  4. 可用廉价或更薄的基板替代传统的基板。

光烧结有哪些应用?

客户应用需求的现代印刷电子器件趋于成熟复杂,往往要求高产量效益和不断提升的器件功能。面对客户针对不同器件的更多要求,印刷电子设备的多功能性就显得非常重要。按此思路顺序,每个器件都设计了多个层次,因此需要更多通用的处理加工技术。光烧结就特别适合于补充现代印刷电子产品的加工需求。光烧结过程可以提供快速,可靠的革新处理步骤,以满足最严苛的生产设计过程。光烧结可以利用现有材料降低热处理成本,并且可以为未来的印刷电子产品提供更多先进材料和功能途径。除烧结金属和陶瓷外,光烧结还可用于干燥薄膜,调节化学反应,甚至退火陶瓷和半导体,如氧化铟锡(ITO)和非晶硅。随着光烧结的普及推广,应用的范围将继续不断扩大。

光烧结与激光工艺类似吗?

是的,但与烘箱或激光相比,光烧结能在很短的时间内处理更大的表面积。 除了少数例外,可以合理地说,对于加工薄膜,光烧结具有激光加工的性能而且具有烘箱的经济效益。

NOVACENTRIX为什么发明光烧结?

光烧结最初由NovaCentrix于2005年开发并获得专利,以满足在低温固化银浆的要求,从而进一步实现在低成本的塑料和纸张上印刷和固化电子产品。当时,我们只是一家纳米分体制造商,并开始着手为新生的印刷电子行业开发分散剂。我们意识到,我们的客户需要一种高温加工方法来代替低温固化油墨,这种方法可以固化任何油墨而不会损坏基材。正由于我们使用脉冲工艺制造纳米粉体的背景,我们开发了该技术的变体,并开发了世界上第一台光烧结原型系统。在获得首批专利后,我们开始联系几家闪光灯制造商为我们制造商业系统,然而因为我们要求的工艺超出了当时的水平,大家纷纷婉拒了我们。NovaCentrix意识到我们必须自己摸索制作光烧结设备,经过不断的努力,第一台商业PulseForge设备最终于2007年推出市场。

 

关于NovaCentrix

总部位于美国德克萨斯州奥斯丁。NovaCentrix 致力于提供先进的光烧结设备和工具,导电油墨及材料,帮助您进行研发,制造新一代的印刷电子产品。

Get In Touch

Follow Us

What Is Photonic Curing

You are here

WHAT IS PHOTONIC CURING?

Photonic Curing is an industrial thermal process in which a thin film is heated with pulsed light from a flash lamp. When the film is heated on a substrate, the bulk of the substrate stays relatively cool since the exposure time is so brief (~1ms). When this transient processing is performed on substrates that have relatively low thermal damage threshold, such as plastic or paper, it is possible to attain significantly higher temperatures in the thin film without damaging the substrate than possible with an ordinary oven. Since photonic curing tools quickly cure thin films at high temperature on low temperature substrates, it is ideal for reel-to-reel processes on polymer or paper.

Photonic curing was first developed by NovaCentrix and is incorporated into the PulseForge® set of tools. It has become a transformative process used in the manufacture of printed electronics as it allows inexpensive and flexible substrates to be substituted for traditional glass or ceramic substrates. Additionally, the higher temperature processing afforded by photonic curing reduces the processing time exponentially, often from minutes down to milliseconds, which increases throughput all while maintaining a very tiny machine footprint.

WHY DOES THIS MATTER?

In comparison to traditional thermal processing methods such as ovens and lasers, the higher temperature processing afforded by photonic curing reduces the processing time exponentially -- often from minutes down to milliseconds! Since it cures thin films at high temperature on low temperature substrates, it is ideal for reel-to-reel processes on polymer or paper.

  1. As compared to traditional thermal processing equipment, e.g. ovens, photonic curing tools have a tiny footprint. 
  2. Equipment can be retrofitted onto existing lines or simply take up less space in a clean room for the same processing rate.
  3. Since higher processing temperatures can be achieved, improved conductive performance can be achieved with functional materials.
  4. Inexpensive or thinner substrates can be substituted for more traditional ones.

WHAT ARE THE APPLICATIONS OF PHOTONIC CURING?

The maturing complexity of modern printed electronics for customer applications demands high throughput manufacturing and improved device function. The functionality of the printed electronics is critically important as customers demand more out of each device. In that order, multiple layers are designed into each device, requiring ever more versatile processing techniques. Photonic curing is uniquely suited to complement the processing needs in the manufacture of modern printed electronics. The photonic curing process can provide a fast, reliable and transformative processing step to meet the most demanding production designs. Photonic curing enables lower thermal processing budget with current materials, and it can provide a path to incorporate more advanced materials and functionality into future printed electronics. In addition to sintering metals and ceramics, photonic curing is also used to dry thin films, modulate chemical reactions, and even anneal ceramics and semiconductors such as Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) and amorphous silicon. As photonic curing continues to become a widely accepted thermal processing technique, the number of applications continues to expand.

ISN'T PHOTONIC CURING SIMILAR TO LASER PROCESSING?

It is, but it processes a larger surface area in a small fraction of time when compared to an oven or laser. With a few exceptions is reasonable to say that for processing thin films photonic curing has the performance of laser processing yet the economics of oven.

WHY DID NOVACENTRIX INVENT PHOTONIC CURING?

Photonic curing was first developed and patented by NovaCentrix in 2005 to address requests to make a low temperature curing silver ink so that electronics could be printed and cured onto low-cost plastic and paper. At the time, we were only a nanoparticle manufacturer that was beginning to make dispersions for the nascent printed electronics industry. What we realized is that instead of a low temperature curing ink, our customers needed a high temperature processing method that would cure any ink without damaging the substrate. As the background of our nanoparticle process used pulsed power and radiation, we developed a variant of that technology to make the world’s first photonic curing prototype system. After we filed our first patents and then approached severalflashlamp manufacturers to make a commercial system for us, our requests were rejected as the requirements were beyond what could have been done at the time NovaCentrix realized that we could manufacture a system in house, and thus the first commercial PulseForge was launched in 2007.

 

About NovaCentrix

Headquartered in Austin, TX, NovaCentrix offers industry leading photonic curing tools, conductive inks, material and expertise enabling development and production of next generation printed electronic devices.

Get In Touch

 

Contact Us

You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.